Disneyland Records

Year 1963

Walt Disney Presents Burl Ives’ Animal Folk is one of several albums for children by the folk singer Burl Ives.

There is a full-color booklet inserted between the gatefold covers of this album. The booklet is lavishly illustrated with selected song lyrics and cartoon representations of Ives interacting with the animals in the songs. The illustrator is not identified, but was likely a Disney staff artist.

Although intended for children, the album is notable for its many references to the death, loss of or danger to the characters in the songs.

Ten of the songs from Animal Folk were released as A Day at the Zoo with Burl Ives in 1972.

Wayfarer Music, the copyright holder of many of the songs in 1963, was a company started by Ives. It is now administered by his widow.

Side 1

1. The Whale
2. Jim Johnson’s Mule
3. The Owl and the Pussycat
4. The Black and White Pigeon
5. The Robin and the Chicken
6. Johnny Doolan’s Cat
7. My Fine White Pony

Side 2

1. Oriole
2. Mr. Rabbit
3. Where’s Joe
4. The Wonderful Crocodile
5. The Little Turtle
6. The Robin
7. The Horse of Demerara


2 responses »

  1. Thank you, but there seems to be a problem with the download link.
    Could you check please ?
    Thanks again.

    • boutje777 says:

      You are welcome, i have no problem with the link. Sometimes it happens that the download doesn’t work and a short while after it works again. Would you try again en let me know, otherwise i will make a download for Google Drive.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s